Emily Cranston Awarded LeSueur Memorial Award

UBC Forestry wishes to congratulate Dr. Emily Cranston who is the 2022 recipient of the LeSueur Memorial Award from the Society of Chemical Industry (SCI). Awarded to exceptional individuals for their work in the development of technical excellence, LeSueur Memorial Award recipients are honoured for their innovation and ingenuity within the Canadian chemical industry.

Dr. Cranston’s Distinguished Career and Sustainable Nano Biocomposites Lab

Emily Cranston, NSERC Fellowship Recipient

Dr. Cranston is a world-leading nanoscientist and in addition to her position as an associate professor in the  UBC Department of Wood Science and UBC Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Dr. Cranston serves as the President’s Excellence Chair in Forest Bio-products.

Cranston’s research group, the Sustainable Nano Biocomposites Lab focuses on the design of high-performance materials, specifically the use of the biocomponent nanocellulose derived from wood pulp in hopes to replace materials based on non-renewable resources. Moreover, Dr. Cranston has linked technical concepts and industrial applications of cellulose-based products in her innovative approach to complex technical challenges.  

Dr. Cranston is the 2016 recipient of The American Chemical Society’s  KINGFA Young Investigator Award, and was awarded the 2018 Kavli Foundation Emerging Leader in Chemistry Award by the American Chemical Society and Kavli Foundation for her significant contributions to the field of chemistry.

In 2020, as an associate professor at UBC, Cranston received funding from the Government of Canada through the Canada Foundation for Innovation’s (CFI) John R. Evans Leaders Fund (JELF). This national investment in state-of-the-art labs and equipment allowed her to purchase an atomic force microscope to aid in the development of bio-based materials.

Additionally, in recognition of her innovation in the fields of wood science, chemical and biological engineering, Dr. Cranston is a recipient of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) 2021 E.W.R Steacie Memorial Fellowship which is awarded to six researchers in the natural sciences and engineering fields across Canada annually.

Thus far, Dr. Cranston has authored over 120 publications and trained dozens of students and researchers.

About the LeSueur Memorial Award

Since 1955, the LeSueur Memorial Award has honoured Ernest A. LeSueur, a pioneer in Canadian Chemical Engineering. This award celebrates individuals for their contribution to the Canadian chemical industry in both research/university institutions and industrial settings.

For more information on the LeSueur Memorial award visit the SCI website.  

Posted in: , ,

Related Articles