Awards & Honours

Sally Aitken receives Genome Canada and Genome BC funding
Dr. Sally Aitken is leading a team that will use genomics to test the ability of trees from different populations to resist heat, cold, drought and disease, and identify the genes and genetic variation involved in climate adaptation.

Scott Hinch receives NSERC Strategic Grant
Scott Hinch was awarded a NSERC Strategic grant totaling $590,000 for research into the effects of injury , pathogens, and climate warming on migration and spawning success of Pacific salmon that have escaped from fishing gear. Partner organizations include the Canadian Dept. Fisheries and Oceans, Pacific Salmon Commission, and Pacific Salmon Foundation.

Richard Hamelin receives Genome Canada and Genome BC funding
Dr. Richard Hamelin will co-lead a team of scientists to harness the power of biosurveillance by decoding the genomes of some of the most threatening invasive species and developing a new suite of tools to rapidly and accurately detect these detrimental forest enemies and assess the risk they pose.

Joerg Bohlmann receives Genome Canada and Genome BC funding
Spruce trees are Canada’s most significant forest resource because they grow in almost every region across the country and are the largest species by the number. Spruce trees also produce high quality wood and fibre that is widely used in the industry. With roughly 400 million seedlings planted per year, spruce are the most reforested trees in Canada. Climate change and unpredictable forest product markets require innovative new tools and technologies for tree breeding programs to deliver reliable spruce stock for future seed and seedling production.

Yousry El-Kassaby receives Genome Canada and Genome BC funding
Changing climates and climate-induced insect outbreaks are on the rise and they can lead to drought and forest destruction. This threatens both forests and the communities that depend on the forest industry. Genome BC is supporting a $5.7 million research project co-lead by Dr Yousry El-Kassaby that aims to shorten the time, by about 20 years, for tree-breeding cycles thus alleviating side effects from climate conditions and insects.

Congratulations Dr Aimee Houde on receiving the Alice Wilson Award
The Alice Wilson Award is given each year to four women of outstanding academic qualifications entering a career in research at the post-doctoral level. Dr Aimee Houde (PDF, Department of Forest and Conservation Sciences) was a recipient for the Academy of Science, selected by disciplinary Fellows of the Society.

Linneborn Prize 2016 Awarded to Prof Jack Saddler
The EUBCE 2016 is proud to announce this year’s winner of the Linnerborn Prize 2016 – Dr. John (Jack) Saddler, Professor of Forest Products Biotechnology/Bioenergy and former Dean, Faculty of Forestry at the University of British Columbia. “Professor Saddler is a pioneer and innovator into why pretreatment, fractionation and enzyme hydrolysis have to be optimised […]

Congratulations to Kathy Martin on being awarded the Ian McTaggart-Cowan Lifetime Achievement Award
The Wildlife Society, Canadian Section has awarded Kathy Martin the Ian McTaggart-Cowan Lifetime Achievement Award. This award recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the understanding, conservation, and/or management of wildlife in Canada over their career. It is only the second time the society has given the award to one of their own. Kathy will receive the award at their annual meeting in Newfoundland in July.

Congratulations to Ken Day on being awarded the Williams Lake City’s Certificate of Merit
Alex Fraser Research Forest manager Ken Day was awarded the Williams Lake City’s Certificate of Merit on April 12, 2016.

Congratulations to Wei-Yew Chang & Chris Gaston on being awarded the Forestry Economics Prize
Oxford Journal’s ‘Forestry - International Journal of Forest Research’ has recently announced that Wei-Yew Chang (Postdoctoral fellow), and Chris Gaston were honored for their paper.