Congratulations to the Recipients of the 2023 FPBC Management Award and MGEM Program Awards

Forest Professionals BC (FPBC) Management Award

Established in 2016, this prize was made available by ForesTrust, registered charity of the Association of BC Forest Professionals (ABCFP). Each year, students enrolled in the Master of Sustainable Forest Management program who have demonstrated academic excellence and leadership skills through their studies will be selected for the prize.

Congratulations to Pauline Flottat for being the 2023 recipient of the ABCFP Sustainable Forestry Management Prize!

MGEM Best in Class Award

Each year two graduating students in the Master of Geomatics for Environmental Management (MGEM) program will be selected for the MGEM Best in Class Awards. The recipients have demonstrated outstanding leadership and teamwork skills during their studies and show exceptional career promise in the field of Geomatics.

Congratulations to the 2022/23 recipients of the MGEM Best in Class Awards!

1st Place: Jackie Ng

During the MGEM program, Jackie was always a team player and showed a dedication to learning. Jackie was always helping their peers. They would pause their own work to ensure that others were succeeding and was always willing to help explain concepts. They embody many traits of a leader: they raise other up, help others, are patient, kind and humble. Jackie’s dedication to sharing knowledge is part of what made them an exceptional MGEM student.  It will be exciting to see where the Geomatics industry takes them!

2nd Place: Chenghao Yang

During the first week of the program Chenghao was nominated to be one of the cohort representatives. This was a role that Chenghao took seriously. He checked in with his classmates, raised concerns and advocated for shifting deadlines when the workloads because intense. Chenghao was someone who crossed social lines in the program, weaving into different groups. This was fueled by his desire to learn, not just about geomatics, but about people. Chenghao often asked insightful questions, and offered help to his peers. Chenghao’s quite leadership has made him an outstanding recipient for this award.


The MGEM GTA Award recognizes outstanding contributions by graduate teaching assistants (GTA) from the Master of Geomatics for Environmental Management (MGEM) program. Each year one GTA who has demonstrated exceptional teaching excellence will be selected for the award.

Congratulations to Liam Irwin, 2022/2023 recipient of the MGEM GTA Award!

About Liam

GTA’s are essential to the MGEM program, they are the heart beat that pumps energy and enthusiasm into every aspect of the program. In a group of people that all do so much, Liam’s dedication stood out. He assisted students outside of his mentorship group, never hesitating to share knowledge, advice and technical assistance. In term 1 Liam lead a R-intensive session out at Loon Lake. This workshop set the foundation for Liam allowing him to play a crucial role in helping the students learn coding and R.

Students have highlighted that Liam took the time to explain material carefully, and helped create an atmosphere to ask questions. Liam was also a consistence presence in the class and made sure to check-in with students outside of questions directed at him. Liam has dedicated time and effort above and beyond what is expected of a TA and as a small repayment we are delighted to award Liam the Best MGEM GTA award!

Posted in: , ,

Related Articles