Office of the Dean


Dr. Robert Kozak

The Dean of Forestry is the chief academic and administrative officer of the Faculty.
Read the Dean’s Message
For appointments please contact Caryn Horii


Associate Dean, Research and Innovation

Taraneh Sowlati

Responsible for promoting faculty research and innovation.


Associate Dean, Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies

Shannon Hagerman

Responsible for administering all aspects of Forestry graduate and postdoctoral studies.


Associate Dean, Academic

Sarah Gergel

Responsible for leading on aspects of Forestry undergraduate academic programs dealing with: curriculum, learning and IT initiatives, teaching assessments.


Associate Dean, Students

Scott Hinch

Responsible for leading on aspects of Forestry undergraduate academic programs dealing with: advising, admissions, awards, graduation, misconduct.


Associate Dean, Asian Strategies

Dr. Guangyu Wang

Responsible for collaboration in forestry education and research with Asian Pacific countries.


Associate Dean, Equity, Diversity and Inclusion

Hisham Zerriffi

Responsible for promoting equity and diversity in the Faculty.


Dominik Roeser

Associate Dean, Research Forests & Community Outreach

Dominik Roeser

Responsible for providing operational and strategic oversight of both UBC Research Forests.


Assistant Dean, Professional Education and International Collaboration

Jorma Neuvonen

Responsible for overseeing Faculty’s professional master and certificate programs and international agreements.


Assistant Dean, Development, Alumni and External Relations

Emma Tully

Responsible for overseeing the fundraising, alumni engagement and external relations activities in support of the Faculty’s strategic goals, and sharing and mobilizing the Faculty’s work to create healthy and sustainable communities and ecosystems.